COVID-19 update 3.20.20 | COVID-19 Information | Naugatuck Valley Community College

Information on COVID-19

COVID-19

Up to date information on COVID-19:

 

CDC  CT Department of Health  Precautions to Safeguard Yourself

Waterbury COVID-19  Danbury COVID-19

Taking Classes Online:

Student Virtual Support Resources

 

 

Naugatuck Valley Community College and the Connecticut State Colleges and Universities, in coordination with the Governor's office, have provided the following guidance to take every precaution to mitigate any potential impact on our campuses:


ReOpen Higher-Ed CT

Messages to Community
McNeil-Coates, Beth E
/ Categories: COVID-19

COVID-19 update 3.20.20

My Dear Students, 

I am following up to messages from earlier this week with additional details on our transition to becoming a fully online institution for the remainder of the semester. Such a rapid move of course presents a number of challenges, but after continuous discussions with our faculty, staff, and students, I am confident that we are in great position to deliver the high-quality education you deserve. Please carefully read the below information, as it is important for the next phase of our educational conversion. 

Regional presidents continue to work with campus leaders, academic deans, and faculty to determine whether courses can continue in an online format. The good news is that the vast majority of classes – a higher number than initially expected – will be able to continue remotely. 

Classes that cannot be delivered entirely online. 
In the event that one or more of your classes cannot completed online, we will reach out to you directly. 

Refunds 
Naugatuck Valley Community College is converting to an online instruction model for the remainder of the term in order to complete the coursework that our students have begun this semester.  NVCC will not refund tuition and fees as a result of this change. In the unlikely event that a class is cancelled by the college, we will provide further information about refunds to impacted students.  

Here is a list of resources that may assist you as we all adjust to the restrictions that COVID-19 presents. 

NVCC Office and Contact Information

Academic Affairs: 
Lisa Dresdner, LDresdner@nv.edu; Susan DiMascia, SDimascia@nv.edu, or Donna Collette, DCollette@nv.edu  

Academic Center for Excellence (ACE): 
Rob Sheftel, RSheftel@nv.edu and Aimee Tiu-Wu, ATiu-Wu@nv.eduACE ONLINE! 

Admissions: 
Noel Rosamilio nrosamilio@nv.edu  

Advanced Manufacturing Technology Center: 
Joe DeFeo, JDeFeo@nv.edu 

Advising: 
Center for Academic Planning and Student Success (CAPSS), CAPSS@nv.edu  
Danbury Campus: Antonio Santiago, asantiago@nv.edu 

Allied Health/Nursing/PE Division: 
Carol Gabriele, CGabriele@nv.edu, Cheryl Marie cmarie@nv.edu, Nancy Torres ntorres@nv.edu  

Bursar:  
Kajmet Abazi, kabazi@nv.edu  

Business Division: 
Conal Larkin, CLarkin@nv.edu  

Bridge to College: 
Tim Magee, TMagee@nv.edu 

Continuing Education and Workforce Development: 
Fay Godbolt, FGodbolt@nv.edu  

Danbury Campus: 
Antonio Santiago, asantiago@nv.edu  

Development Office:
Angela Chapman, achapman@nv.edu  

Disability Services: 
Terry Latella, TLatella@nv.edu  

Financial Aid: 
Cathy Hardy chardy@nv.edu or nv-financialaid@nvcc.commnet.edu  

Human Resources: 
Kim Carolina, Dir. Human Resources/ADA Coord., KCarolina@nv.edu; Jacquie Swanson, Assoc. Dir. of Human Resources/Title IX Coord., JSwanson@nv.edu;  
Ron Clymer, EEO, RClymer@nv.edu 

Information Technology: 
Nephthali Villanueva, nvillanueva@nv.edu  

LABSS Division: 
B.L. Baker bbaker@nv.edu or Nancy Powell npowell@nv.edu   

Library Services: 
Jaime Hammond, JHammond@nv.edu;  
Danbury Campus: Ivelisse Maldonado imaldonado@nv.edu  

Male Encouragement Network (M.E.N.): 
Rob Sheftel rsheftel@nv.edu, Antonio Santiago asantiago@nv.edu, or B.L. Baker bbaker@nv.edu  

Registrar’s Office/Records: 
Lourdes Cruz, lcruz@nv.edu or records@nv.edu 

STEM Division: 
H. Justin Moore hmoore@nv.edu or Susan Cassano scassano@nv.edu   

Student Activities: 
Karen Blake, kblake@nv.edu  

Resources for Students: 

E-Tutoring Services: 
Check with the ACE (above) 
Nursing student tutor: Ashley Morin, amori0030@mail.ct.edu 

Library Services (Mon – Thu 8am to 8pm, Fri 8am to 4:30pm, Sat – Sun 10am to 2pm):  

Distance Learning (online class resources): 
Carrie Horvath, CHorvath@nv.edu or Lew Boyce, LBoyce@nv.edu  

How to contact tech support to continue your studies online. 
1) The CSCU Student Support page can be accessed here:  http://cscu.edusupportcenter.com/ 
2)  A service ticket can be submitted by sending an email to: Nv-ServiceDesk@nv.edu 
Note: This must be done from your college email.  

Information on free internet offers for those who don’t have access during the outbreak. 
Comcast, Cox, and Charter are all currently offering some form of free internet service for students. 

Food Insecurity: The following community Food Pantries will allow our students to access their services utilizing their NVCC student ID’s

Greater Waterbury Interfaith Ministries (GWIM
770 East Main Street Waterbury 
Soup Kitchen 11am – 1pm (hot meal in to-go container) 
Food Pantry – Emergency Food bags available 

Salvation Army of Waterbury 
74 Central Avenue 
Monday - 9am – 10:45pm  
Wednesday – 9 am – 11am   
Thursday – 9am – 10:45am  

St. Vincent DePaul  
327 Baldwin St 
203.757.0411 
Food Pantry – Thursdays 1p – 2p (Food bag to go) 
Soup Kitchen – Daily 11a – 12:30p (hot meal to go container) 

How to access food pantries with campus closed:  
COVID-19 Update: Mobile Pantries (Connecticut Food Bank

 NVCC Foundation Scholarship Information:
The NVCC Foundation scholarship process is underway and we are on track to award these scholarships to students. Students will be notified by email when the process is complete.  

Community Mental Health Resources: 

Non-profit Counseling Services 

  • Women's Center- Free and Confidential Services for Men & Women 
    203-731-5200; 2 West Street, Danbury, CT 06810 

  • Psychiatric and Emergency Management-Waterbury Hospital 
    203-573-6500 

  • Catholic Charities-Danbury 
    203-743-4412 

  • Safe Haven of Greater Waterbury Hotline 
    203-575-0036 

  • Wellmore- Waterbury 
    203-756-7287 

Sexual Misconduct and Intimate Partner Violence Resources: Christine Cocchiola ccocchiola@nv.edu   

As always, if you are experiencing an emergency, please contact 9-1-1. 
 

 In addition, I encourage you to reach out to your professors and mentors with any questions or concerns you may have. 

Thank you, and please feel free to reach out directly if I can be of assistance, 

Daisy Cocco De Filippis, Ph.D. 
President 

Return to all messages

Print
266
Precautions to Safeguard Yourself

Precautions to Safeguard Yourself

Hand washing:

All students, faculty, and staff can help to prevent the spread of COVID-19 and other infectious diseases by regularly washing hands for at least 20 seconds. To learn more about proper hand washing, visit the CDC’s website page When and How to Wash Your Hands (CDC)

Other Precautions To Take:

In addition to frequent hand washing there are many other steps you can take to help prevent the spread of disease. These steps include:

  • Refrain from shaking hands, hugging, or kissing as a means of greeting.
  • Do not share food or beverages.
  • Avoid touching your eyes, nose, and mouth with unwashed hands.
  • Avoid close contact with people who are sick.
  • Stay home when you are sick.
  • Cover your cough or sneeze with a tissue, then throw the tissue in the trash.
  • Clean and disinfect frequently touched objects and surfaces
Test Scores
Immunization Information
Transcript Information
International Student Transcript Information
Immunization Information
Proof of English Proficiency Test Information
Our History
Project Approach
The Hundred Languages of Children
Waterbury Campus
Danbury Campus
map
Waterbury Campus
Danbury Campus
title here
title
Net Price Calculator
Testing Module Element