Student Affairs Committee By-Laws Adopted March 2012

The Student Affairs Committee provides a forum for students to voice concerns and issues and faculty to assist in resolving the issues. It is a vehicle of communication between faculty and students. It is responsible for choosing various award and scholarship recipients. Assists in identifying potential speakers for the commencement ceremony.

The Student Affairs Committee (SAC) will be governed by the following:

Quorum

There must be 2/3 of the Committee members present (exclusive of student members) to conduct official business. Only appointed members or their designated alternates will be included in the quorum count.

Meetings

The Chairperson or designee will conduct each meeting. Meeting minutes will be taken by any member present, on a turn by turn basis. Each year the Committee members will develop a regular meeting schedule.

Voting

Items requiring a vote will be approved by a simple majority of those present at an official meeting. Only appointed members or their designated alternates are eligible to vote.

Orientation

All new Committee members will participate in an orientation discussion to familiarize them with the processes and procedures of the SAC. The discussion will be held during a regular business meeting.

Evaluation

There will be a yearly self-evaluation each May, of the work undertaken by the Committee. This summary document will be reviewed by the Committee members, and once approved, will be submitted to the Agenda Committee.

Elections

The SAC Chairperson will be elected at the first official meeting of each academic year. There are no other officers.

Committee Membership

Regular and Alternate members serving on the SAC will be appointed by their respective organizational units.

Student Affairs Committee Membership

Division/Department	Members	Alternate
Allied Health	Stephanie Wilborne	Heather Belcourt
Behavioral and Social Sciences	Karla Ekquist-Lechner	Kathleen Leblanc
Business	Elma Solomon Vacant	N/A
Arts and Humanities	Eleni Saltourides (Chair)	Wade Tarzia
STEM	Jianyu Zheng	Marian Zerbi
Academic Division Director	N/A	Pamela Tolbert-Bynum
Administration	Nephtali Villanueva	Sharon Nihill
CED/Workforce	Lisa Palen	Martha Charis
Learning Resources	Alison Wang	Elaine Milnor
Student Services	Lisa Boyko, Karen Blake, Laurie Novi	Cathy Hardy, Diane Zutant, Sarah Gager
Admissions	Yvette Tucker	Lisa Calabrese
Student Government Representative (2)	Isralis De Jesus (president of SGA) and Jesse Spangenberg (secretary of SGA)	N/A

Meetings: Occur on Thursdays at 3:30pm

Oct. 16, 2014

Nov. 13, 2014

Dec. 4, 2014

March 26, 2015