

November 22, 2011

Hope everyone has a great holiday break. Please mark your calendars for a NEASC event on Thursday, December 1st from 2:30-4pm. We'll be hosting a "NEASC Grab Bag" in the Tech Hall Dining Room. This will be an opportunity to visit several Standards in 15 minute segments to learn about their work and to provide feedback about the information they've found through their research. We'll have desserts and coffee – plan to drop in for at least part of the time. Look for more information when we come back from Thanksgiving next Monday.

This week we're highlighting the work being done by NEASC Standard Eight. We hope you'll see this as an opportunity to provide input into that work. If you have additional information you think would be useful to the work, or questions about it, contact the chair of that standard directly.

Standard Eight: Physical and Technological Resources (Stacey Williams, Chair)

The Committee is nearly finished with tying up "loose ends" in the description phase. As survey information has become available it has brought with it a solid direction for the appraisal of Standard 8. We look forward to continuing our analysis of the survey information, the upcoming feedback forum (NEASC News) and, in particular, the information gathered through the upcoming student survey. Many, many thanks to all who have provided feedback through surveys and the first open forum on May 4th 2011. Keep it coming!

Areas addressed in Standard 8 include:

- The adequacy of existing physical and technological resources
- Policies governing physical and technological resources
- The linkage between physical resource planning and academic and student services, support functions, and financial planning
- Data integrity and security

Emerging Appraisal Items include:

- Training in administrative, information and academic technology
- Access to classroom technology
- Parking (Waterbury campus and the Danbury center)
- Air Quality
- College website as a technological resource

Committee Members 2011-12: Wayne Adams, Lisa Calabrese, Barry Groman, Lisa Palen, Kegan Samuel, Donn Scott, Christopher Tuccio, Stacey Williams (Chair)

Sincerely,

Dean Sandra Palmer & Kim O'Donnell Your NEASC Co-chairs